Political Police Threatens Neighbor of Dissident with Arrest

Roxilene Sotolongo Cruz & Ariel Gonzales Cueva

Image and report by Eriberto Liranza Romero.

This past 13th of October, Roxilene Sotolongo Cruz from Cervantes Avenue, #272 between Pinar del Rio and Yumuri, Parraga, Arroyo Naranjo was summoned before a political police official.

The State Security officials known as “Luis” and “Ale” carried out the interrogations and threats against Sotolongo.  “The citation stated that my presence in the police station was just for a ‘conversation’.  When the agent known as Luis arrived he began to threaten me, telling me that if my family and I continued our friendship with the family of Eriberto Liranza Romero, my husband Ariel Gonzales Cueva would lose his job, or something worse would happen to him.  He also assured us that our friendship with a ‘counter-revolutionary’ would bring consequences to my 25 year old son, who doesn’t even live with us“, declared Roxilene.

All of this is the wrong doing of these people.  I fear that they will comply with their threats, and I don’t have a way to maintain my family.  They already detained me once for helping the wife of Liranza to carry a couple of buckets of water when her husband was on hunger strike in January of this year.  I know that they don’t threaten just because.  If something happens to me or my family, they will be the responsible ones.  Meanwhile, we will not stop visiting or helping Liranza, because they are good neighbors, as opposed to the hypocrites and thieves nearby which wave around their Communist Party ID cards and revolutionary signs“, declared Ariel Gonzales, husband of Sotolongo.

 

Leave a Reply

